Categories

Conserva Guide

Specials

tinned-food-shelf-life
§ INFO
There are no statutory requirements with regard to the maximum shelf life period. The shelf life of a food product is dependent on many factors. The nature, preparation and composition of the food as well as the packaging materials used and the packaging process thus play a decisive role.

It should be noted:
The best before date is not an expiration date!

Generally speaking, foodstuffs can be consumed significantly later than indicated on the packaging. The date specified on the packaging is not an expiration date on which the food will become spoilt but rather defines the point in time up to which the food will display no significant loss of quality or taste.

The composition, preparation and processing of the food, the packaging materials used, the production process and the integrity of the food producer all ultimately determine whether the food will keep for 2, 5, 10, 15 or 25 years.

Tinned foods exist as fully-preserved tinned products, semi-preserved tinned products, dried tinned products and tropically preserved products.

Tinned foods can be divided into fully-preserved, semi-preserved, dried and tropically preserved products. The classification as to what kind of tinned food is involved is determined by the core temperature achieved and the duration for which the temperature is applied during the sterilisation of the food in the tin. The higher the core temperature and the longer the process time, the more micro-organisms, bacteria and spores are killed in the foodstuff to be preserved. This kill rate is measured in the so-called F-value, a unit of the sterilisation process Ultimately, the higher the F-value, the longer the foodstuff can be kept in the tin.

The tinned food we buy in the supermarket today is always fully- or semi-preserved. The manufacturers of these foodstuffs provide for their food being consumed within 6 to 24 months. Therefore, during manufacture the tinned foods are only produced with a correspondingly low F-value and in order to reach a higher F-value, more energy and time must be applied during production for the achievement and maintenance of the higher temperatures, leading to higher production costs and, ultimately, the costs of the actual food being unnecessarily increased.

Not every tin has to last for ever.

Manufacturers permanently optimise their production processes so as to reduce production costs. Use of materials and energy costs already account for a large proportion of the cost of production of tinned foods in Europe. In order to reduce costs, the tinned foods we buy in the supermarket are only produced with the maximum necessary F-value and ever thinner material thicknesses of the tinplate or aluminium cans. In this way, the manufacturer can guarantee the shelf life of 6 to 24 months with low production costs.

Here at CONVAR foods, we are experts when it comes to the manufacture and development of food products which are to be stored for a long period of time - so called long term foodstuffs.

From the very start, our food products are designed for an extremely long shelf life under the most advserve conditions, and when selecting the raw material for each receipe and also the packaging materials, we take into account whether they are suitable for the necessary production processes in order to meet our high-quality standards even after a long storage period of over 10 years.

All foodstuffs produced by CONVAR for long-term storage are produced as tropically preserved products. This means that the more intensive heat treatment (longer and / or higher temperatures) also kills thermophilic spores.

Tropically preserved products produced by us under the DosenBistro and EF brands with a minimum shelf life of 10 years can be found here:

db-button10-years-slef-button

Experience with historically old tinned products

There are always new reports and evidence of tinned products being opened, examined and consumed after 70 or even 100 years. Micro-biologically, these foods were all still intact. However, this should not be taken to mean that the tinned products we buy in the supermarket can be kept for this long. In those days, material thicknesses were used for the production of the tins which were many times higher than the requirements today for sale in the supermarket. Furthermore, at that time all tinned products were produced as per the parameters now accorded to tropically preserved products.


Interesting fact

Tinned bread from the second world war edible

bread-2-world-warAs the WELT newspaper reported back in July 2002, an 84-year old man found a box of 20 tins of bread from the second world war in the corner of his garage. He then made the tins available to the European Bread Museum in Ebergötzen (Northern Germany). The appropriate food supervisory authority of the district of Siegen examined the black bread and classified it as "still edible". Theexperts were amazed. According to contemporary witnesses and experts, the shelf life of tinned bread is about ten years, however, the specified minimum shelf life even today is only a modest two years. Tinned bread can actually achieve a shelf life of more than 50 years!

Briton eats 50-year old tinned chicken

chicken-ukAmong many other things, when they married in 1956, the British couple Les and Beryl Lailey received a tin of chicken. They kept the tin in the kitchen cupboard until their 50th wedding anniversary when Mr Lailey implemented his plan. He had always said that he would open the tin and eat the contents on their 50th wedding anniversary. The 73-year old tasted the 50-year-old chicken and thought it was excellent. Just a bit too salty, reckoned Mr Lailey.

Your conserva.de team

This could also be of interest to you:

The advantages of canned foods

Canned food - simple! Simply good! » read more
The new generation of emergency supply products

In times of need, "beggars can't be choosers"
But they should! And we can be» read more
Emergency supply package advisor

When buying emergency supply packages, the old saying has never been more relevant: “You get what you pay for!”

» read more

/* BING */

Kategorien

Conserva Ratgeber

Sonderangebote

wie-lange-haltbar
§ INFO
Gesetzliche Vorgaben über die maximale Zeitspanne der Haltbarkeit gibt es nicht. Die Haltbarkeit eines Lebensmittel ist von vielen Faktoren abhängig. So spielt die Beschaffenheit, Zubereitung, Zusammensetzung des Lebensmittel sowie die verwendeten Verpackungsmaterialien und der Verpackungsprozess eine maßgebliche Rolle.

Wohlgemerkt:
Das Mindest-Haltbarkeits-Datum ist kein Ablaufdatum!

In der Regel können Lebensmittel deutlich länger als auf der Verpackung angegeben konsumiert werden. Das auf der Verpackung angegebene Datum ist kein Ablaufdatum an dem das Lebensmittel verdirbt sondern definiert den Zeitpunkt bis zu dem das Lebensmittel keine wesentlichen Geschmacks- und Qualitätseinbußen aufzeigt.

Die Zusammensetzung des Lebensmittel, Zubereitung, Verarbeitung, die verwendeten Verpackungsmaterialien, der Produktionsprozess sowie die Seriosität des Lebensmittelherstellers, bestimmen letztendlich ob das Lebensmittel 2, 5, 10, 15 oder 25 Jahre haltbar ist.

Bei Konserven gibt es die Unterscheidung von Vollkonserven, Halbkonserven, Trockenkonserven und Tropenkonserven.

Bei Konserven wird zwischen Voll-, Halb-, Trocken- und Tropenkonserven unterschieden. Die Einstufung um welche Art der Konserve es sich handelt wird durch die erreichte Kerntemperatur und die Zeit in der die Temperatur während der Sterillisation des Lebensmittel in der Dose auf dieses einwirkt bestimmt. Je höher die Kerntemperatur und je länger die Prozesszeit beträgt desto mehr Mikroorganismen, Bakterien und Sporen werden in dem zu konservierenden Lebensmittel abgetötet. Diese Abtötungsrate wird im sogenannten F-Wert, einer Maßeinheit des Sterillisationsprozesses gemessen. Je höher der F-Wert, desto länger lassen sich Lebensmittel in der Konservendose letztendlich lagern.

Bei den Lebensmittelkonserven, die wir heute im Supermarkt kaufen handelt es sich immer um Voll- bzw. Halbkonserven. Die Hersteller dieser Lebensmittel sehen einen Konsum ihrer Lebensmittel innerhalb von 6 bis 24 Monaten vor. Daher werden die Konserven bei der Herstellung auch nur mir einem entsprechend niedrigen F-Wert produziert. Denn um einen höheren F-Wert zu erreichen muss mehr Energie und Zeit bei der Produktion für das erreichen und halten der höheren Temperaturen aufgebracht werden. Dadurch würden sich die Produktionskosten und letztendlich auch die Kosten für das eigentliche Nahrungsmittel unnötig erhöhen.

Es ist nicht jede Dose für die Ewigkeit gemacht.

Hersteller optimieren permanent ihre Produktionsprozesse um so Kosten bei der Produktion zu senken. Materialeinsatz und Energiekosten machen bereits heute einen großen Anteil an den Produktionskosten für Lebensmittelkonserven in Europa aus. Um die Kosten zu reduzieren werden daher Konserven die wir im Supermarkt kaufen nur mit dem maximal notwendigen F-Wert und immer dünner werdenden Materialstärken der Weißblech- bzw. Aluminiumdosen produziert. So kann der Hersteller die Haltbarkeit von 6 bis 24 Monaten bei geringen Produktionskosten garantieren.

Wir von CONVAR Foods sind Experten wenn es um die Herstellung und Entwicklung von Lebensmitteln geht, die lange gelagert werden sollen – s.g. Langzeitlebensmittel.

Unsere Lebensmittel sind von Anfang an für eine extrem lange Haltbarkeit unter widrigsten Bedingungen ausgelegt. So berücksichtigen wir bereits bei der Auswahl der Rohstoffe, der Rezeptur des Lebensmittel und der Verpackungsmaterialien ob diese für die notwendigen Produktionsprozesse geeignet sind um auch nach einer langen Lagerung von über 10 Jahren unseren hohen Qualitätsansprüchen zu entsprechen.

Alle von CONVAR für die Langzeitlagerung produzierten Lebensmittel werden als Tropenkonserven produziert. Das bedeutet, dass durch die intensivere Hitzebehandlung (länger und / oder höhere Temperaturen) auch thermophile Sporen abgetötet werden.

Von uns produzierte Tropenkonserven der Marken DosenBistro und EF mit einer Mindesthaltbarkeit von 10 Jahren finden Sie hier:

db-button10-years-slef-button

Erfahrungen mit historisch alten Konserven

Es gibt immer wieder neue Berichte und Belege über Konservendosen die auch nach 70 oder gar über 100 Jahren geöffnet, untersucht und verzehrt wurden. Mikrobiologisch waren diese Lebensmittel alle noch intakt. Jedoch ist hieraus nicht ableitbar, dass sich Dosen welche wir heute im Supermarkt kaufen genauso lange lagern lassen. In der damaligen Zeit kamen für die Dosenproduktion Materialstärken zum Einsatz, welche um ein vielfaches Höher waren als in der heutigen Produktion für die Anforderungen des Verkaufs im Supermarkt. Zudem wurden damals alle Konserven unter Parametern hergestellt die heute der Kategorie Tropenkonserve entsprechen.


Interessantes

Dosenbrot aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg essbar

bread-2-world-warWie die WELT Zeitung bereits im Juli 2002 berichtete, fand ein 84-jähriger Mann in der Ecke seiner Garage einen Karton mit 20 Dosen Brot aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg. Er stellte diese Dosen schließlich dem Europäischen Brotmuseum in Ebergötzen (Norrdeutschland) zur Verfügung. Die Lebensmittelüberwachung des zuständigen Kreises Osterholz-Scharmbeck hat das Schwarzbrot untersucht und als "noch essbar" eingestuft. Die Experten waren verblüfft. Laut Zeitzeugen und Experten läge die Haltbarkeit von Dosenbrot bei etwa zehn Jahren, dennoch liegt die angegebene Mindest-Haltbarkeit sogar heute noch bei nur bescheidenen zwei Jahren. Dosenbrot kann also eine Haltbarkeit von mehr als 50 Jahren erreichen!

Brite isst 50 Jahre altes Dosenhuhn

chicken-ukZu ihrer Hochzeit im Jahr 1956 erhielt das britische Pärchen Les und Beryl Lailey u.a. eine Hühnchen-Fleisch-Konserve. Sie bewahrten die Dose bis zu ihrem 50ten Hochzeitstag im Küchenschrank auf, bis Herr Lailey sein Vorhaben umsetzte. Schon immer habe er gesagt, er werde die Dose am 50ten Hochzeitstag öffnen und essen. Dem 73jährigen schmeckte und bekam das 50 Jahre alte Hühnchen hervorragend. Lediglich ein wenig zu salzig sei es gewesen, so Herr Lailey.

Ihr conserva.de Team

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Die Vorteile der Konservendose

Eine der besten und bewährtesten Konservierungstechniken mit sehr modernen Werten. » weiterlesen
Notvorrat der neuen Generation

„In der Not frisst der Teufel Fliegen“
» Soll er doch! Sie müssen das nicht. » weiterlesen
Notvorratpaket Ratgeber

Was ist wichtig und worauf sollten Sie beim Kauf eines Notvorratpaketes achten.

» weiterlesen

/* BING */